We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Propagation of Tibetan plants  (Read 2969 times)

Droni

Propagation of Tibetan plants
« on: December 18, 2011, 12:17:32 AM »
Hello - My name is Droni  Amcho . I am a Tibetan student at RBGE and SAC.  I am trying to write a thesis which includes cultivation of some of the Tibetan medicinal plants, but I cannot find any good information on some of the high alpine species & how to propagate them. So I would be grateful if you could provide any information on ...

Lagotis brevituba

Notopterygium franchetii

Saussurea medusa

Saussurea obvallata

Gentiana urnula

Thank you so much. I am looking forward to hearing from you soon.
Droni

Lesley Cox

• way down south !
  • Gardening forever, house work.....whenever!
Re: Propagation of Tibetan plants
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2011, 03:46:32 AM »
If only one had the chance to propagate such plants!

I would imagine seed if available or cuttings would be the answer for Gentiana urnula and seeds for the Saussureas but I've certainly no experience with either. I wish you well with your search for information Droni.
Lesley Cox - near Dunedin, lower east coast, South Island of New Zealand - Zone 9

Richard Green

• Journal Access Group
  • SRGC Treasurer
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2011, 10:26:30 AM »
Droni, I would start by asking Chris Chadwell, who travels regularly to the Himalaya and sells seeds from the area.  He is interested in the medicinal uses of plants, and also organises the Himalayan Plant Association (formerly called the Sino-Himalayan Plant Association).  His website is http://www.chadwellseeds.co.uk/ and his email address is given there.

If he does not have personal experience of growing these plants, then he may be able to put you in touch with one of the Association members who may have done this.  Unless one of our other Forum members can help?