We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: brodiaea elegans? ID please  (Read 937 times)

Mark Griffiths

brodiaea elegans? ID please
« on: June 20, 2015, 04:10:54 PM »
hi, as per the title I grew this from AGS seed, it's a Brodiaea but is it B.elegans? the colour has come out ok, it is violet blue. thanks in advance

Oxford, UK
http://inspiringplants.blogspot.com - no longer active.

Robert

• All text and photos © Robert Barnard
Re: brodiaea elegans? ID please
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2015, 06:10:05 PM »
Mark,

I quick look at your "Brodiaea" reveals the following: I see 6 stamens which suggests Triteleia. All Brodiaea have 3 stamen and 3 staminodes. My guess would be something close to Triteleia laxa. Definitely it is not T. bridgesi

I hope that this is some help to you. I am not an expert, so maybe there is someone with more information to help pin point the ID.
Robert Barnard
Sacramento & Placerville, Northern California, U.S.A.
All text and photos © Robert Barnard

If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him stepto the music which he hears, however measured or far away.
- Henry David Thoreau

Robert

• All text and photos © Robert Barnard
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2015, 07:47:00 PM »

Mark,

Brodiaea elegans is a native on our farm property and are blooming now. I hope the photograph is useful to you. The 3 staminodes can be seen up against the lower part of the petals. The 3 stamens clasps and surround the stigma, much like modern tomatoes.

Triteleia laxa is native down the down. They finished blooming more than a month ago (so no photograph), but look exactly like your plant.