We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Newbie questions: best self seeders  (Read 3983 times)

shaun342

Newbie questions: best self seeders
« on: December 01, 2016, 11:05:05 AM »
Hi all!

Have just introduced myself on the members' board. I'm Shaun, based in the East Midlands, UK, and have a growing passion for crocus, cyclamen, galanthus etc.

I own Janis Ruksans 'Crocuses: A complete Guide...' - but due to recently becoming a father I haven't had much of a chance to have a good read yet!

I do apologise if the info i'll be asking is readily available in the book or on this site (am blown away - such a brilliant community/resource).

I work as a groundsman and have a small park to 'play' with as such - there's not much apart from grass and trees. I've just planted several thousand daffs, aconites and snowdrops, but what I'm most looking forward to is naturalising crocus everywhere... The only issue I have is the squirrels/mice and other pests who have a taste for them. I believe Tommies tend to be left alone, so I've planted around 1500. 'Barrs...' and 'Whitewell Purple' were the ones I've found readily available  (I've read that 'Ruby Giant' are sterile?) so I'm hoping these are likely to multiply and seed themselves readily? Are there any other varieties known to offer rodent resistance?

I've also bought some Tommie seed from chilterns - I've never tried from seed before so I look forward to experimenting using the info on this forum.