We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: lilium  (Read 2531 times)

johnw

• rhodo-galantho-etc-phile
lilium
« on: June 05, 2008, 01:01:40 AM »
Surprised to see a pot of Lilium lophophorum in first bloom in the greenhouse tonight. I have never seen it before. Also my L. oxypeltalum v insigne from the Stones. Wonder if this is different from the usual? Will photograph tomorrow morning. Here's last year's photos of it:

Should have posted this in Lilium. Sorry.

johnw
Edit: I have moved your post, John!
 Maggi
« Last Edit: June 05, 2008, 01:04:17 PM by Maggi Young »
John in coastal Nova Scotia

David Nicholson

• Hawkeye
  • Journal Access Group
  • Why can't I play like Clapton
Re: lilium
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2008, 07:56:20 PM »
I'm no expert John but I did look to see what Edward Austin McRae had to say about Lilium oxypetalum var. insigne. He doesn't say a lot apart from 'flowers of purplish pink and green' and that seems to fit your pictures.
David Nicholson
in Devon, UK  Zone 9b
"Victims of satire who are overly defensive, who cry "foul" or just winge to high heaven, might take pause and consider what exactly it is that leaves them so sensitive, when they were happy with satire when they were on the side dishing it out"

David Nicholson

• Hawkeye
  • Journal Access Group
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2008, 08:07:52 PM »
Whilst we have a Lilium thread growing could I hijack it for a moment please.