We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: galanthus worronii/ woronowii ?  (Read 8400 times)

Alan B

galanthus worronii/ woronowii ?
« on: February 04, 2008, 08:55:04 PM »
A question for the galanthophiles.  This weekend I found some pots of galanthus in a garden centre labelled (with the usual type of plastic label that makes you at least think they must be right) which they called galanthus worronii.
I'm no expert on these and cannot find a reference to this name.  Could they be woronowii which someone has just got the name wrong on ?
« Last Edit: February 04, 2008, 09:53:45 PM by Maggi Young »
in South Wales

Martin Baxendale

• Quick on the Draw
  • faster than a speeding...... snowdrop
Re: galanthus worronii
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2008, 09:05:33 PM »
Yes, that'll be it, Alan.
Martin Baxendale, Gloucestershire, UK.

mark smyth

• Hopeless Galanthophile
Re: galanthus worronii/ woronowii ?
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2008, 07:11:50 PM »
Many people I know call them woronii. I was in Homebase last night a saw dozens of woronowii labelled as nivalis. All non flowering bulbs. When they are reduced I'll consider buying them. I did buy two Hellebores. One apple green with red spots and one yellow with red spots
Antrim, Northern Ireland Z8
www.snowdropinfo.com / www.marksgardenplants.com / www.saveourswifts.co.uk

When the swifts arrive empty the green house

All photos taken with a Canon 900T and 230

Brian Ellis

• Brian the Britisher
  • 'Dropoholic
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2008, 07:14:57 PM »
Well what I would like to know from any latin expert is this, are they pronounced Woronowii, Woronovii or Voronovii ?
Brian Ellis, Brooke, Norfolk UK. altitude 30m Mintemp -8C

mark smyth

• Hopeless Galanthophile
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2008, 07:19:01 PM »
clem-at-is clemat-is cle-mate-is

I say woronov-e-i, a friend says woronov-e-e