We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Trillium hibbersonii seeds wanted  (Read 3603 times)

Maggi Young

• Forum Dogsbody
  • Global Moderator
  • "There's often a clue"
    • International Rock Gardener e-magazine
Trillium hibbersonii seeds wanted
« on: September 07, 2009, 03:06:48 PM »
I've had this request for Trillium hibbersonii seed for a Canadian project.... if you can help, message me, please, by Forum pm or via  info AT srgc.org.uk

Request reads.......
Hello, Scottish Rock Garden Club People,  

I am very happy to find your web site.  I was looking for images of Trillium ovatum hibbersonii.

I’m a resident of Otter Point District in the Capital Regional District on Vancouver Island.  The point that this district is named for was one of the sites where Trillium ovatum hibbersonii was found in the wild.  As your members probably know, this dwarf trillium is now very rare in the wild.  I would like to try growing it from seed and re-establishing it on Otter Point.  The point is now a park belonging to the Capital Regional District.

Your club’s site is the most promising I have found for seed.   I spoke to someone earlier this evening who knows of a nursery that has good success with wild plants so if  someone can spare some seed, I do think I will be able to get some plants started.

Looking forward to hearing from you.
H. P.  

« Last Edit: October 18, 2010, 07:36:37 PM by Maggi Young »
Margaret Young in Aberdeen, North East Scotland Zone 7 -ish!

Editor: International Rock Gardener e-magazine

John Aipassa

Re: Trillium hibbersonii seeds wanted
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2009, 04:01:03 PM »
Maggi,

Maybe the Trillium Enthusiast Discussion List "Trillium-L" can be of some assistance for this person too. The seed exchange will soon start there. The email address of Trillum-L is: TRILLIUM-L@nic.surfnet.nl.

Cheers,
John
John Aipassa, Aalten, The Netherlands