We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: C. cvijicii  (Read 2646 times)

Alex

• Oxford, U.K.
C. cvijicii
« on: April 23, 2009, 07:15:17 PM »
Just a quick question as it's my first year with this one - can we expect C. cvijicii to go dormant soon along with most of the others? And I understand it should be slightly moist (not wet!) over the Summer?

Many thanks,

Alex

tonyg

• Chief Croconut
  • Never Stop Looking
    • Crocus Pages
Re: C. cvijicii
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2009, 07:33:59 PM »
Yes, it will go dormant and lose its leaves.  Good idea to keep it growing as long as possible.  Mine are still green(ish) despite the heat wave here!  Seed pods are appearing above ground now so the growing season is almost over.  I keep Crocus cvijicii in a frame with most of the other spring crocus.  I allow mine to get fairly dry before I repot but it does not want to be baked.  The sand under the pots remains damp through summer but no water is given from above.  The frame lights go on and heavy duty shade netting keeps the pots from overheating. 

Alex

• Oxford, U.K.
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2009, 07:31:31 AM »
Hi Tony,

Many thanks for that. One of mine is still green, the one which came up a bit later, but the other two which started very early (flowered January, I think I posted pictures!) are dying back now. I will follow your excellent advice re: dormancy.

Cheers,

Alex

Janis Ruksans

• Rare Bulb Nursery - Latvia
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2009, 07:00:32 AM »
I'm returning to Forum from some time in hospital. Not so bad as I had possibility to reread manuscript and correct some faults of my new book "Growing Crocuses" for Timber Press before posting it to editors. There will be two new taxa included and some comb. nova as I see things.