We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: A few pics plus Narcissus question  (Read 5036 times)

Alex

• Oxford, U.K.
A few pics plus Narcissus question
« on: January 31, 2009, 11:00:39 AM »
A few pics from today you might like:

a Crocus cvijicii from Janis demonstrating they do offset!
Iris winogradowii (I must admit in my possession less than a week - my father has 4 or 5 pots like this from one original bulb!)
a corner of the greenhouse showing some of the Leonticoides Corydalis starting up

The final two are of a plant I've been growing for a few years as Narcissus cantabricus petunioides, with a romieuxii going over next to it in the last one. The stock originates from David Sampson's former nursery in Sussex, and may have come from Tilebarn Nursery in Kent before that, but I'm not completely sure of that. I've always wondered whether it's really bright white enough to be the real thing - any thoughts? How valid or consistent is the designation 'petunioides" anyway? I understand it doesn't come true from seed, so is it a single clonal selection made years ago?

Cheers,

Alex

Gerry Webster

Re: A few pics plus Narcissus question
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2009, 11:55:03 AM »
The final two are of a plant I've been growing for a few years as Narcissus cantabricus petunioides, with a romieuxii going over next to it in the last one. The stock originates from David Sampson's former nursery in Sussex, and may have come from Tilebarn Nursery in Kent before that, but I'm not completely sure of that. I've always wondered whether it's really bright white enough to be the real thing - any thoughts? How valid or consistent is the designation 'petunioides" anyway? I understand it doesn't come true from seed, so is it a single clonal selection made years ago?
Cheers,
Alex