We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Personal Web Sites and Web hosting  (Read 2970 times)

tonyg

• Chief Croconut
  • Never Stop Looking
    • Crocus Pages
Personal Web Sites and Web hosting
« on: November 02, 2008, 10:45:15 PM »
I would like to pick the brains of those forum readers who have their own web sites.   
I am planning a new web site ... or two.  I currently use a free site provided by my isp but this is limited in several ways.  I would like to make an improved Crocus Pages site which I can easily update and add to.  I am also looking to have a personal site to promote my own interests ie Lecturing, plants for sale.  It could be that both live under the same umbrella site but I would welcome any advice you can offer.  I am not an expert on making web sites so keep it simple :) and I'll be on a strict budget. 
If anyone has experience of 'Simplesites' I would be especially pleased to hear from you.   If you know of other providers who offer a similar service let me know.

mark smyth

• Hopeless Galanthophile
Re: Personal Web Sites and Web hosting
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2008, 11:16:28 PM »
hi Tony, can I offer my services? I can do a simple/easy design for you at no cost
Antrim, Northern Ireland Z8
www.snowdropinfo.com / www.marksgardenplants.com / www.saveourswifts.co.uk

When the swifts arrive empty the green house

All photos taken with a Canon 900T and 230

tonyg

• Chief Croconut
  • Never Stop Looking
    • Crocus Pages
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2008, 11:30:33 PM »
Ahh .. but who hosts it?  Can I edit it at will, frequently and easily?  What will be my web address?  I'm going to put a lot of content up but am viewing this as a long term project.  I could be a very demanding (annoying :-*) customer :)
Give me more info in a PM Mark - I could be interested but need to know more.

Lesley Cox

• way down south !