We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Almost Spring in the Southern Hemisphere  (Read 9392 times)

Lauren

Almost Spring in the Southern Hemisphere
« on: August 23, 2008, 09:34:10 AM »
I thought the other thread was getting a bit long (nine pages!) so I thought I'd start a new thread for the last of the winter flowers before spring arrives.

Firstly, blooming for the very first time for me, is my Tecophilaea cyanocrocus! How exciting!! Such a stunning flower and I've never seen one in person.

The second photo is a Crocus that Paul Tyerman sent to me several months ago. Unfortunately the texta I used on the plant labels have completely faded :( So if anyone (Paul?) can tell me which one this is I would be very grateful!!

Lastly I thought I might show you a view of my main garden bed from this afternoon. Some of you may remember I am new to the house (a year next month!) and this first winter here was spent planting all my poor potbound perennials that haven't grown in open soil for nigh on 7 years. It looks a bit empty at the moment, but once everything comes into leaf & the perennials emerge I think it'll look okay. My delphiniums have already started growing, they are on either side of the Daffodils. Also planted along the right hand sign is a japanese maple, Liliums, Euphorbias, Gladiolas, Tulips, and a couple of small leafed Rhododendrons. Over in the corner it's a bit shady so I've put my Dicentras & Epimediums there, as well as my Rhodo "Fragrantissimum" and R. nuttalii, which also has flower buds for the first time. Moving over to the left of the photo I've got more Delphiniums there, 2 Roses, Irises, Peony, Dahlia, and Campanula glomerata. There's a small apple tree over there aswell. You can't see them in the photo but further to the left there is 2 raised vegetable gardens which we had to bring in soil to fill them. The soil in the garden wasn't good when we first mo