We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Fritillaria camschatcensis bulbs - runners?  (Read 1382 times)

hwscot

Fritillaria camschatcensis bulbs - runners?
« on: July 17, 2021, 05:48:11 PM »
Hi,

Can anyone tell me about these bulbs, which arrived a couple of days ago in superb condition from Susan Band at Pitcairn. They are Frit. cam. lutea. I'm fascinated by the long 'runners'.

I'm new to growing this frit. This year a sowing of SRGC seed flowered for me for the first time, and I see they are the Alaska form that Ian illustrates in several of his bulb logs. I got a couple of flowering size, which I've put into the garden, plus several more good sized and some rice. I'm very taken with them, and in my delight, I ordered bulbs of the lutea form from Susan.

These new bulbs have the remains of roots that look much like other frits I've grown, but then they have these long things I'm calling runners, though I'd love to know the right name.

And what they are? I've not seen anything like them on any other frits (I grow meleagris, aurea, pontica, affinis, several imperialis types, and over the years have killed several others). I didn't see anything like these structures on the seed-grown bulbs, but then none were as big as these that have arrived from Susan.

I'd planned to grow the new ones in pond pots sunk into the ground in the open ground, near the Alaskans, so if I lift dormant bulbs I can be sure which form I'm lifting, but I'm wondering if they want to be able to run freely, seeing these structures.

If Ian has illustrated this in the log, I'd love to know, I've only managed to find mentions and photos of the bulbs in flower. I see he grows a yellow form, though I don't know if it's the same form as Susan's.