We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Winter active alpines  (Read 1340 times)

VidaSvahn

Winter active alpines
« on: August 29, 2018, 02:42:24 PM »
Hi everyone! I'm a new member of the SRGC, long time plant enthusiast. I was hoping for some advice on winter active alpine plants which can be grown as houseplants. I'm a university student so I (sadly) don't have a garden of my own. I have plenty of winter dormant houseplants, and as a result the long, dark Scottish winters are quite dull. I'm hoping to find some interesting plants to grow which will be a) active in the winter months, b) not too difficult to find in the UK, and c) affordable for a uni student like myself.

I recently discovered Oxalis palmifrons and immediately fell in love with the foliage. I was also pleased to see that it was winter active - does anyone here have experience with this plant, ie know if it is relatively easy to acquire, and suitable for a windowsill?

Thanks in advance and looking forward to getting to know the club.  :)

bibliofloris

Re: Winter active alpines
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2018, 08:05:24 AM »
Hello! I’ve grown Cyclamen graecum and Cyclamen persicum inside for years, and they’re beautiful in winter (and dormant in summer, so you can switch the pots with your others.) The florist hybrids are fairly inexpensive in the US, not sure about the UK. Not exactly alpines, but somewhere to start?
Good luck finding the perfect ones!
Kelly
Kelly Jones
near Seattle, Washington state, USA (US zone 8b)

VidaSvahn

« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2018, 10:11:07 PM »
Hi Kelly! Thanks so much for the reply. I hadn't thought of Cyclamen inside; that's a great idea! I travel a lot in the summer so having something that doesn't need much care when dormant would be perfect. I'll definitely look out for some.  :)

bibliofloris

« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2018, 03:35:28 AM »