We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Will named varieties of Anemone nemorosa come true from seed?  (Read 1115 times)

Robert Pavlis

• Garden Myths
Will named varieties of Anemone nemorosa come true from seed?
« on: November 26, 2015, 11:58:38 PM »
Past seed lists have various named clones available, so I was wondering what can be expected from this seed?
« Last Edit: November 27, 2015, 10:42:17 AM by Maggi Young »
Robert, Guelph, Ont Canada, zone 5
Author of http://www.gardenmyths.com/
Owner of Aspen Grove Gardens

Maggi Young

• Forum Dogsbody
  • Global Moderator
  • "There's often a clue"
    • International Rock Gardener e-magazine
Re: Will named varieties of Anemone nemorosa come true from seed?
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2015, 10:58:25 AM »
I've no experience of this - but I'd expect (hope??!!) that at least a few offspring might come true - but I wouldn't expect  a great result.
 Personally, I am surprised that seed from named cultivars would ever have been listed  in any other way than  "ex" - which I think was the intended implication.  :-\

The latest Seed List from SRGC is being mailed out to members now , so should arrive soon -  online ordering will be enabled next week - possibly Tuesday 1st December - watch for the announcement in the main website seed section!
« Last Edit: November 27, 2015, 11:00:04 AM by Maggi Young »
Margaret Young in Aberdeen, North East Scotland Zone 7 -ish!

Editor: International Rock Gardener e-magazine

wooden shoe

« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2015, 08:10:35 PM »
I think you will have a chance that you will find some new varieties in your seedlings. Maybe some ugly, but some will look similar or even look better than the parent and some will look like the wild type.