We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Horticultural/Alpine Grit  (Read 12911 times)

LindseyEd

Horticultural/Alpine Grit
« on: August 13, 2014, 11:31:09 AM »
Hi, newbie here!

I am mostly looking to grow Primula, Dianthus and Campanula, but also a few other species. I am an experienced general gardener but it is a while since I dabbled in alpines and I'm rapidly discovering I've forgotten most of what I once knew and that was probably never enough in the first place!

My latest problem is the standard crushed flint 'horticultural grit' that I remember using no longer seems available in garden centres. So any pointers on what to use would be very welcome.

I'm looking for a source of grit in small quantities (my ambition doesn't yet stretch to using a 1 ton bag!) and after searching online I am now thoroughly bamboozled by the choice of types, frustrated by the lack of small sized bags, and also uncertain as to exactly what features are desirable.

Should I expect to buy different grits for the potting mix from those used for top-dressing?
What particle size should I be looking for?
Is it best to have a mix of particle sizes or all approx the same size?
How importance is sharpness? (many gravels look very rounded)
How do things like crushed Cornish granite compare to flint?
Should I be considering eco-agregates like crushed terracotta?
For lime-lovers, should I be looking for a limestone, or a neutral product and then add garden lime?
And can anyone recommend a supplier for the south of England who will deliver in just small bags not by the ton?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Lindsey Edwards
Hampshire, UK

Darren

Re: Horticultural/Alpine Grit
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2014, 12:24:58 PM »