We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Am I doing it right?  (Read 1353 times)

fixpix

Am I doing it right?
« on: February 11, 2014, 12:00:29 PM »
As I am new to Alpines, I have a few questions as I don't want to blow my chances to some nice plants in my garden.

1. Is it a problem if the mix doesn't come all the way up to the margins of the pots?
I've read in a couple of sources "fill up the containers".
Thing is, I recycle the PET bottles I get from water, and I cut them. I usually cut them a bit higher just in case I need deeper pots later on.
Also, if I cover the pots with some plastic sheet (like a bag, or foil or something) being a bit higher, doesn't stick to the mix/seeds below.

2. I see condense. Water forms both in a fine mist but also bigger drops under the cover. Also on the container walls.
Is this BAD?
Should I remove the covering? Problem is, we still get occasional rains and the pots are out there.
Sometimes when I have time, I take each pot, remove the cover, give it a shake, and turn it inside out, with the dry side in the pot.
But, am I using moisture this way?

Thank you in advance!
Some of my creations :)
http://edenium.sunphoto.ro/

shelagh

• Black Pudding Girl
Re: Am I doing it right?
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2014, 01:54:27 PM »
Hi Fixpix,  I'm no expert but the only pots I cover with plastic are fern spores.  All other seed pots are uncovered but not necessarily outside, mostly in the greenhouse or frame.
Shelagh, Bury, Lancs.

"There's this idea that women my age should fade away. Bugger that." Baroness Trumpington

ChrisB

• SRGC Subscription Secretary
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2014, 02:21:59 PM »
Hi Fixpix