We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Shortia  (Read 23459 times)

WimB

• always digs deeper...
    • Vlaamse Rotsplanten Vereniging
Shortia
« on: January 03, 2008, 10:51:54 AM »
I have ordered some shortia seed from the Göteborg botanical garden but I have never tried sowing them before.
Is there anybody who could give me some advice about the sowing conditions (ground, temperature,...)

Thanks

Wim
Wim Boens - Secretary VRV (Flemish Rock Garden Society) - Seed exchange manager Crocus Group
Wingene Belgium zone 8a

Flemish Rock Garden society (VRV): http://www.vrvforum.be/
Facebook page VRV: http://www.facebook.com/pages/VRV-Vlaamse-Rotsplanten-Vereniging/351755598192270

Kenneth K

Re: Shortia
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2008, 02:59:46 PM »
Use a peatbased compost. I use a mix of 2/3 fine grounded, moist peat and 1/3 of sand. Spread the seeds on the surface and sprikle with water to create good contact between the seeds and the sowing medium. Do not cover. Make sure you keep a high humidity. One way to do that is to cover the pot with a plastic film. Place the pot in light and a temperature of about 20 C. Protect from direct sun. The seeds will germinate in 2-3 weeks.

Place the grown-up plants in peat in shadow. Here a picture from Gothenburg Botanical Garden to show how they look there and a close-up from my own garden.
Kenneth Karlsson, Göteborg, Sweden

ChrisB

• SRGC Subscription Secretary
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2008, 07:13:50 PM »
Very nice.  I think I may try to get some seed.  Not grown these before.
Chris Boulby
Northumberland, England

WimB

• always digs deeper...
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2008, 06:31:33 PM »
Thanks for the info, Kenneth. I'll certainly try it like that.
Somebody has e-mailed me that I should try sowing it on peat moss, so I'll try that too and see which technique works best.