We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Where to start....  (Read 2677 times)

Ivan McConachie

Where to start....
« on: August 02, 2013, 01:15:14 PM »
I am probably going to ask a question that has been asked before on the forum, if so forgive me.

I just wondered those of you who show your plants, you all must have started somewhere! So I wondered what varieties of alpines/bulbs did everyone start with??

Following on from that and to help myself as a complete newbie, can I ask what varieties would you all recommend as a good starting point, for growing in the hope of showing.

There is such a vast range out there, but presumably the are varieties that are more 'showy' than others. 

Maggi Young

• Forum Dogsbody
  • Global Moderator
  • "There's often a clue"
    • International Rock Gardener e-magazine
Re: Where to start....
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2013, 01:43:00 PM »
Ivan, I'll attach to this post a couple of old documents that I originally prepared for the Aberdeenshire Group members -  they will at least give you some starter tips, I hope, even though they are quite locally specific to this area - it shouldn't take too much to see how the ideas can be expanded......

Some notes to encourage First Time Exhibitors  * shownotesfornewbies.doc (34.5 kB - downloaded 197 times.)

Some possible show plants ( Aberdeen) * possibleshowplants-Aberdeen.doc (31 kB - downloaded 274 times.)
Margaret Young in Aberdeen, North East Scotland Zone 7 -ish!

Editor: International Rock Gardener e-magazine

Maggi Young

• Forum Dogsbody
  • Global Moderator
  • "There's often a clue"
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2013, 02:10:06 PM »
Okay, let me think, what might be good for Section II beginners?

Primula reidii , Primula vulgaris or  elatior , Lewisia cotyledon,  dwarf Rhododendrons like 'Ginny Gee' 'Curlew' .