We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: 12 Month Seed Raising Results  (Read 7633 times)

t00lie

• Style Icon
  • If i'm not at home i'll be in the mountains.
12 Month Seed Raising Results
« on: September 02, 2007, 12:48:27 AM »
Howdy all.

Although i've been sowing seeds as a hobby for many years,(Lesley thinks i was born in a seed pot),it is only recently that i've started keeping statistical information.

This came about after a visit to a friends garden last year when upon viewing her latest batch of youngsters i was asked how my endeavours were going.My response was that while i had a general feeling ,i had no factual basis on which to make an informed reply.
Later on this got me wondering and although i have a dislike of figures,(whenever i see statistics my first thoughts are 'lies damn lies'--smile),i started a register of all seed sown from April 06.Each entry records the date sown--name of seed--source and if lucky --eventual germination .

A total up this morning confirms 345 pots,(of small bulbs --woodlanders and alpines),have been sown from April 06 to current,however the results relate to the 256 pots sown for the 12 month period April O6 to April 07.

Of the 256 sown --138 have germinated so far--a 54% success rate.I'd expect this to increase over the next few weeks as the weather slowly warms up here.

If i take out a large Trillium batch that i sowed early this year,(they have had only had one chilling period and most won't come up until next season),the figure goes up to 66%.

I should point out that other than the 'doctoring' with the Trilliums above and one *environmental adjustment ,i've tried not to influence the final result.ie when requesting seed my focus was not on whether the sps. would germinate or not ,but rather that the seed was a must have.(Smile).
*This winter i placed a cover over the seed raising area to help control the moisture levels.