We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: An Observation  (Read 1042 times)

Alan F

An Observation
« on: August 08, 2011, 11:51:30 PM »
I've spent the last few weeks reading many threads on the forum, trying to digest as much information as possible. I came across a thread about how many "lurkers" there were and how it would be nice if a few more visitors would do some posting.

I feel a bit cheeky making suggestions being a newbie myself but from be a member of many other forums I have noticed a couple of things so hopefully you will take my suggestions as being constructive and not critisisms.

When I first joined, I was surprised that there wasn't anywhere to introduce yourself - you have to get straight in with a post of some sort.

Secondly, I'm sure experts and those with many years of experience feel at home when they join but I think those new to the subject of alpines would appreciate a beginners section where their questions can be asked about the basics without feeling embarassed amongst all the technical questions. I think I could fill that section on my own :-) I think many would find it quite daunting to ask what "mud mix" they should use !!!

Mick McLoughlin

Re: An Observation
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2011, 12:09:58 AM »
Hi Alan,
There is a thread to introduce yourself
http://www.srgc.org.uk/smf/index.php?topic=12.0
With regards to feeling at home just start posting with any question and somebody will pull up a chair and start discussing it with you.
As regards to 'mud mix' there are many discussions and recipes to be found on here.
If you've got a question just ask it, more often than not you will get an answer virtually straight away (the experts like to show their expertise).
Cheers
mick
Hemsworth, West Yorkshire

Lesley Cox

• way down south !
  • Gardening forever, house work.....whenever!
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2011, 02:15:14 AM »