We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Soil/compost for raised bulb bed  (Read 3782 times)

Alan_b

• 'finder of the light'
Soil/compost for raised bulb bed
« on: May 02, 2011, 12:30:21 PM »
I have constructed the framework of a raised bed for growing snowdrops and other spring bulbs and now I need something to fill it with - soil or compost.  I need about one cubic metre in volume, I don't have nearly enough of my own garden compost and I don't need a big hole somewhere else in the garden so I must buy something in.  Ideally I would like to use leaf mould but that isn't commercially available so I'm wondering about spent mushroom compost.  This has the advantage of being available in bulk for not too much money and would seem to both moisture-retentive and free-draining.  Does anyone have any thoughts or alternative suggestions?  I'm not an expert on composts so there could easily be fatal flaws in my idea.       
Almost in Scotland.

ArnoldT

Re: Soil/compost for raised bulb bed
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2011, 04:42:24 PM »
Alan:

I can't quote a source but have heard that mushroom compost contains too much salt.
Arnold Trachtenberg
Leonia, New Jersey

Michael J Campbell

• Forum's " Mr Amazing"
    • lewisias.
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2011, 05:20:24 PM »
Alan, I have some experience working with spent mushroom compost and I would advise you not to use it  under any circumstances. I have a conductivity reading somewhere and I will see if I can find it but I think it was almost 90%. I did manage to reduce it to about 3% for use as potting compost but it was a complicated process using micro-organisms.
The County Enterprise Board refused to grant aid the project so I did not proceed.

cheers.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2011, 06:18:28 PM by Michael J Campbell »

Ezeiza

« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2011, 05:42:07 PM »