We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Cultivation of Lewisia longipetala x cotyledon 'Little Plum"  (Read 4858 times)

Bob Resch

Can anyone guide me in with cultivation of Lewisia in general and the subject plant specifically. I am new to rock garden plants and in process of building a crevice bed (photo of work in progress attached) which contains pure coarse sand. I want to include Lewisia in my bed but am getting conflicting information from growers as to cultural requirements. Particularly drainage and sun/shade needs. I have some understanding of its native environment in the northwest U.S. but would like to hear of your experiences if you have grown Lewisia.
La Grange, Illinois 60525 - Zone 5b-high humidity-hot summers-annual rain about 38 cm with undependable snowcover.

Lesley Cox

• way down south !
  • Gardening forever, house work.....whenever!
Re: Cultivation of Lewisia longipetala x cotyledon 'Little Plum"
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2010, 10:32:11 PM »
Hi Bob, welcome to the Forum. I'm sure many people will be able to help, on both sides of the Atlantic, and perhaps even here in the not quite Antarctic!

I think Lewisias would like your crevices very much indeed, especially if they are not sunk down too deeply, so that air can get around the collars. Having said that, my mother used to grow L. cotyledon hybrids in the open rock garden but they always got covered with chickweed so were perpetually damp. She lifted them and dusted them off, so to speak and potted them for the local flower show then replanted when again, they became covered with chickweed. They flowered magnificently and lasted for years, seeding all over the place. The soil was very well drained and with grit and gravel dug in, and the seedlings were especially happy in the gravel. I've found that Lewisias in troughs seed well into the gravel paths below and make beautiful plants from there.