We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Autumn-Season 2008 begins  (Read 57557 times)

robsorchids

Autumn-Season 2008 begins
« on: August 08, 2008, 07:37:35 PM »
i have begun sligtly damping the soil in the pots of the various reginae cultivars, as well as peshmenii, i hope im not being to hasty?

of course i wont be watering them to much, i have only been giving slight watering from placing the pots out in the recent rain to help, am i right in thinking they will begin making new roots at around the end of the month perhaps? so what im doing will help with this?

i wont begin full watering regime keeping them moist until the begining of autumn anyway.

they have been kept dry for most of the summer in the cool shed, they were all repotted into fresh mix of perlite and J.innes no 2. I have been giving the odd water every month or so.

as im still new to the autumn drops (compared to you guys) i dont want to make any mistakes so any help would be appreciated.

thank you
rob

Paul T

• Our man in Canberra
  • Paul T.
Re: time to begin waking up reginae olgae?
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2008, 12:26:04 AM »
Rob,

I don't treat them any differently here than I do any other Galanthus.  I certainly don't dry any Galanthus I grow.... they get watering throughout the year, although less in summer than while in growth.  Do reginae-olgae need to be completely dry in summer?  If so, don't ANY of your tell mine as they're growing and thriving here with summer watering.  :o
Cheers.

Paul T.
Canberra, Australia.
Min winter temp -8 or -9°C. Max summer temp 40°C. Thankfully, maybe once or twice a year only.

Martin Baxendale

• Quick on the Draw
  • faster than a speeding...... snowdrop
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2008, 12:48:33 PM »