We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: RHS People Awards 2020  (Read 1755 times)

Maggi Young

  • Forum Dogsbody
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 44016
  • Country: scotland
  • "There's often a clue"
    • International Rock Gardener e-magazine
RHS People Awards 2020
« on: April 06, 2020, 11:56:01 AM »
RHS People Awards 2020

Wonderful news  for SRGC as  ex President  Ian Young is awarded the Veitch Memorial Medal  -also
AGS President  Chris Bailes is  awarded the  Victoria Medal of  Honour  in today's announcement  of  RHS  People

Something  for  us  to cheer about! A very  exciting  honour for  Ian   - also  for  Keith Wiley  who is  made  an   Associate  of  Honour. 

This  is  the  full list  of  Awards :
RHS Awards 2020
The Victoria Medal of Honour
Established in 1897, with the assent of Her Majesty Queen Victoria, the Victoria Medal of Honour (VMH) may be awarded to British horticulturists deserving of special honour by the Society. Only 63 medals may be held at any one time, in recognition of the duration in years of Queen Victoria’s reign.

In 2020 the VMH was awarded to Christopher Bailes, Jim Gardiner and Jim (James) McColl MBE.
Associate of Honour
Established in 1930, the Associate of Honour is conferred on persons of British nationality who have rendered distinguished service to the practice of horticulture during the course of their working life. The number of Associates of Honour may not exceed 100 at any one time (excluding those Associates who also hold the Victoria Medal of Honour).

In 2020 the Associate of Honour was awarded to Christopher Brookes, Peter Sandwell and Keith Wiley.
The Veitch Memorial Medal
The Veitch Memorial Medal is awarded annually to persons of any nationality who have made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of the science and practice of horticulture.

In 2020 the Veitch Memorial Medal was awarded to John Anderson, Owen Johnson, Rosie Peddle, Derek Spicer and Ian Young.
The Harlow Carr Medal
The Harlow Carr Medal is awarded to those who have made a significant contribution to horticulture in the North of England, through the length of service, commitment to projects or capabilities, combined with reliability and professionalism.

In 2020 the Harlow Carr Medal was awarded to David Rose.
Roy Lancaster Award
The Roy Lancaster Award is awarded to individuals under 35 (on the date of nomination) who have achieved an exceptional contribution to the practice, science or promotion of horticulture.
In 2020 the Roy Lancaster Award was awarded to Harry Baldwin.

Congratulations to all those  honoured !

Other  awards  made  today - see  here :

[ Guests cannot view attachments ]
J. Ian Young  and  Keith Wiley

[ Guests cannot view attachments ]
Chris Bailes

[ Guests cannot view attachments ]
Jim McColl with Carole  Baxter - both  of the  Beechgrove  Potting  Shed  - a  pic  from some  years ago!
« Last Edit: April 06, 2020, 11:58:16 AM by Maggi Young »
Margaret Young in Aberdeen, North East Scotland Zone 7 -ish!

Editor: International Rock Gardener e-magazine


Scottish Rock Garden Club is a Charity registered with Scottish Charity Regulator (OSCR): SC000942
SimplePortal 2.3.5 © 2008-2012, SimplePortal