We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: How to preserve dug up bulbs during summer?  (Read 1433 times)

GZ

How to preserve dug up bulbs during summer?
« on: July 13, 2014, 01:29:35 PM »
Hi All,

I'm totally newbie here, sorry if my question is too basic.

I had to dig up my narcissi and I have to store them somehow until planting them in October. I filtered through many forums suggesting that bulbs should be kept bone dry, well aerated in a cool place, but I am so much worried about the smaller bulbs, such as N. watieri, that they will just dry out and die.

Could you please mention a way more fragile bulbs can be kept during summer? Unfortunately I do not have the space for a sand plunge, or a cool cellar. Tthe coolest place I have is at about 20 °C during the hottest days.

Thanks a lot,
Zoltan   

fermi de Sousa

• Far flung friendly fyzzio
Re: How to preserve dug up bulbs during summer?
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2014, 02:47:03 PM »
Hi Zoltan,
I usually wait till the bulbs are completely dormant in mid summer before repotting my daffs and other small bulbs. I've sometimes stored the dry bulbs in paper bags in a cool place indoors, though I prefer to repot them straightaway I've usually kept a few this way to plant out when the weather cools down. I think if the bulbs have "matured" by going dormant and having had some warmth to dry them out then they can be dry stored. Do you have the room to pot the bulbs in potting mix which isn't completely dry but not sopping wet and keep them somewhere out of the rain? I think summer rain is responsible for a lot of losses of dormant bulbs,
cheers
fermi
Mr Fermi de Sousa, Redesdale,
Victoria, Australia

Lesley Cox

• way down south !
  • Gardening forever, house work.....whenever!
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2014, 08:55:34 AM »