We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Candidum or X andrewsii?  (Read 2011 times)

Alex

• Oxford, U.K.
Candidum or X andrewsii?
« on: May 27, 2013, 05:51:22 PM »
Hi all,

I've been growing this plant in a pot for about 3 or 4 years now, and it's finally decided to flower. I bought it from Hardy Orchids (i.e. Ratcliffe Orchids) as Cypripedium candidum, and my question is: is it really this or X andrewsii? I don't know how to tell the difference, and can't find anything online.

Cheers for any help,

Alex

John Aipassa

Re: Candidum or X andrewsii?
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2013, 10:54:43 PM »
Alex, It is hard to say when I look at your photo. My first guess would be X andrewsii, but I am not sure. Since X andrewsii has parviflorum as a parent, all my X andrewsii start with a yellow pouch/lip (from parviflorum) which will turn white (from candidum) after a week or so. Did your plant started this way too? Than maybe it is indeed an X andrewsii. My candidum are not flowering size, but I believe candidum start with a white pouch.
« Last Edit: May 27, 2013, 11:04:05 PM by John Aipassa »
John Aipassa, Aalten, The Netherlands
z7, sandy soil, maritime climate

"In all things of nature there is something of the marvelous." - Aristotle

Alex

• Oxford, U.K.
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2013, 11:21:33 PM »
Hi John,

Many thanks for this. The pouch was never yellow, although it was a rather creamier colour before the flower opened, what I would call ivory maybe. It has been white ever since the flower has fully opened. I know this is a difficult question, so any help appreciated!

Cheers,

Alex

K Andrzejewski

« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2013, 11:29:13 PM »
this is a bit sad, but you can compare the size:

Hakone

« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2013, 05:34:25 AM »
Hi Alex,

Please create a photo from the side and habitus .

Regards