We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Advice on soil mix wanted  (Read 723 times)

Henrik S

Advice on soil mix wanted
« on: August 03, 2022, 02:42:01 PM »
Hi all!

I am new to rock gardening and could need some advice on soil composition. The thing is I have a dry stone wall made up of rounded granite stones. The wall acts as a support for the garden soil in the descent of a garage in the basement of my house. I thought it would be nice to use the wall as a rockery. As it is now the gaps between the stones are filled with the surrounding garden soil, which must be quite fertile since nettles and dandelions thrive. However, after killing of the weeds I will dig out the soil between the stones and fill the cavities with some new soil suitable for alpines. I know there are alpines with different needs and there is no soil that suits all. Nevertheless I want to make a soil that will be OK for as many species as possible, a sort of general soil. The components I consider to add are: Coco coir (I want to avoid peat), washed horticultural grit (1-3 mm), pumice (2-8 mm), pelleted horticultural clay (2-6 mm), crushed limestone (2-6 mm) and pelleted lime powder (for instant pH increase). If I will plant som acidohiles I'll skip the limestone/lime powder.
So, can anyone give some advice if I should add or remove some components and what proportions I should have?

Best regards/
Henrik

Maggi Young

• Forum Dogsbody
  • Global Moderator
  • "There's often a clue"
    • International Rock Gardener e-magazine
Re: Advice on soil mix wanted
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2022, 02:49:47 PM »
Hello and welcome, Henrik!
 I would think that you would only really need to amend the growing soil in your wall by adding gravel and perhaps sand.
Margaret Young in Aberdeen, North East Scotland Zone 7 -ish!

Editor: International Rock Gardener e-magazine

Henrik S