We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Where I grow my pleiones or Restoring a Victorian Greenhouse  (Read 7728 times)

Maren

• Maren & Pln Tongariro
    • Heritage Orchids
Where I grow my pleiones or Restoring a Victorian Greenhouse
« on: September 19, 2010, 09:59:14 PM »
Hi,
I've been working for the last three years on the restoration of a small Victorian greenhouse, built in 1907, never maintained and totally rotten through and through. It stands in a large former kitchen garden, now put to grass, and when I first came across it, it was hidden in a jungle of brambles, nettles and thistles and there were trees growing in it and through the broken glass.

I made a deal with the owner that I would be allowed to use it for free for my pleiones if I undertook the restoration. Well, he got a good deal. The worst part was that the sills were rotten and had to be replaced. It's tricky to fit something in between existing brick and metalwork. We also found that there was no symmetry, all the angles were untrue and one side was longer than the other. All the glass panes were of different measurements etc.etc. It was a bit of a nightmare.

But it was worth it. The pleiones love it and I take great pride in the result, particularly the smart staging which I designed to replace - well - there was really nothing there before.

Now this is the Little Greenhouse, there is a bigger one in front of it, about three times as large and equally decrepit.......
« Last Edit: October 18, 2010, 11:59:41 AM by Maren »
Maren in Marlow, Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom - Zone 8

http://www.heritageorchids.co.uk/

Maggi Young

• Forum Dogsbody
  • Global Moderator
  • "There's often a clue"
    • International Rock Gardener e-magazine
Re: Where I grow my pleiones or Restoring a Victorian Greenhouse
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2010, 10:06:22 PM »