We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: time for potting pleiones ?  (Read 3254 times)

Lars S

time for potting pleiones ?
« on: January 22, 2008, 12:21:21 PM »
Well, it´s time for my first question on this forum. Here goes.

I have just received some pleione bulbs and when unpacking I noticed that some of them have started to make what I suppose is the beginning of a flower spike. Being a complete newbie when it comes to pleiones I´m not sure if that (the spike) means that they need to be potted as soon as possible. I would rather wait a month or so since daylight still is scarce up here in Ultima Thule. What do you think ?

Lars
Lars in Stockholm
USDA-zone 6 or there about

johanneshoeller

Re: time for potting pleiones ?
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2008, 12:32:09 PM »
Lars, which Pleiones have you? Can you send a photo?
I keep my Pleiones very cold (0°C -4°C) a long time, and at the end of February I will pot them. Do not water before there are new roots or leaves!

Hans
Hans Hoeller passed away, after a long illness, on 5th November 2010. His posts remain as a memory of him.

Luc Gilgemyn

• VRV President & Channel Hopper
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2008, 12:52:37 PM »
Hello Lars,
I'm in the middle of potting mine right now - but then, I don't live in Ultima Thule....  ;D
I keep my bulbs in a frostfree shed - perfect in a normal winter - but temperatures out here have been between +10 and +13°C over the last few weeks and the early varieties are clearing showing rapid development of the flower bud. (Eiger, Hekla Locking Stumps, Asama, Forrestii just to name a few)