We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Sending Bulbs Abroad  (Read 7394 times)

Alan_b

• 'finder of the light'
Sending Bulbs Abroad
« on: January 26, 2008, 08:31:35 AM »
I have had a request from a collector in Belgium to swap some snowdrop bulbs.  I live in the UK.  I have been growing these bullbs in my garden for several years, having originally collected them from a churchyard where I found them (having first sought permission from the church warden).  Just before I go ahead, I would like to check that I am not going to fall foul of any legal issues.  Can anyone advise?  I am not a commercial grower, just an ordinary galanthophile, and our plan is to post the bulbs to each other. 
Almost in Scotland.

ArneM

Re: Sending Bulbs Abroad
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2008, 09:41:16 AM »
In my mind you do not need any special certificates like CITES because in the EU it is not required. Ship it as a normal package only with more postage.  ;)

mark smyth

• Hopeless Galanthophile
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2008, 09:50:44 AM »
I send bulbs to Europe most years and dont need to declare anything. I do use tubes to protect the snowdrops. Nothing infuriates me more than receiving bulbs  that have their leves and flower stems folded in half and squashed in to a small box
Antrim, Northern Ireland Z8
www.snowdropinfo.com / www.marksgardenplants.com / www.saveourswifts.co.uk

When the swifts arrive empty the green house

All photos taken with a Canon 900T and 230

Alan_b

• 'finder of the light'
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2008, 10:32:47 AM »
Thanks Mark and Arne.  I had thought of using a tube but the only tube I have come up with so far is the inside of a toilet roll and this is a bit short and flimsy.  What did you ues, Mark? 
Almost in Scotland.

Maggi Young

• Forum Dogsbody
  • Global Moderator
  • "There's often a clue"
    • International Rock Gardener e-magazine