We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: Deformed leaves and flower stems on candelabra primulas  (Read 1601 times)

Ken Dawson

Deformed leaves and flower stems on candelabra primulas
« on: May 31, 2011, 07:35:04 PM »
My wife and I have been growing many species of primulas in our garden for several years now but last year and this year we have noticed that several of the candelabra primula plants have deformed leaves and stunted and crooked stems between the first and second tier of flowers. I include below a photo of a deformed leaf on one of these plants. Does any one know what might have caused this type of deformity?
Ken Dawson, Edinburgh, Scotland

Maggi Young

• Forum Dogsbody
  • Global Moderator
  • "There's often a clue"
    • International Rock Gardener e-magazine
Re: Deformed leaves and flower stems on candelabra primulas
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2011, 07:46:45 PM »
Hello Ken, it is good to have you begin posting..... what a pity it is with this problem, though.
With primulas there is always the possibility of virus, which can distort any or all parts of a plant but I think the problem here may be insect damage, in conjunction with some weather damage at certain stages of growth.  It's not always a question of one cause alone..... let's see what others have to say.....
Margaret Young in Aberdeen, North East Scotland Zone 7 -ish!

Editor: International Rock Gardener e-magazine

Martinr

« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2011, 08:07:52 PM »
My money's on insect damage, doesn't look terminal

Ken Dawson

« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2011, 04:18:15 PM »
With primulas there is always the possibility of virus, which can distort any or all parts of a plant but I think the problem here may be insect damage, in conjunction with some weather damage at certain stages of growth.  It's not always a question of one cause alone..... let's see what others have to say.....