We hope you have enjoyed the SRGC Forum. You can make a Paypal donation to the SRGC by clicking the above button

Author Topic: moraea insolens  (Read 2598 times)

P. Kohn

moraea insolens
« on: October 23, 2019, 08:14:04 AM »
One of the many species we would like to try in the new South African Bed at Sheffield Botanic Gardens. It is not on The Silverhills list.
Does anyone grow this plant or know of a seed source please.

Rob-Rah

Re: moraea insolens
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2019, 12:52:22 PM »
I'd love to grow it too. I fear Silverhill and the likes would be breaking laws to procure wild seed though?

P. Kohn

« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2019, 02:45:49 PM »
I know it is critically endangered but I wonder if it is in cultivation anywhere ?  Maybe Kirstenbosch ?

Kathy1987

« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2020, 07:31:43 AM »
Hello,

I found this species on the list of bulbophile.com

I have no experience with this shop, there are different opinions about it.

But maybe you can try it there?

Greetings
Kathy

Maggi Young

• Forum Dogsbody
  • Global Moderator
  • "There's often a clue"
    • International Rock Gardener e-magazine
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2020, 01:12:51 PM »
Hello Kathy!
The  reports on  Pacific Bulb Society, our sister  society's  list  of  that business are  not  good so I'd advise  great caution.

Hello,

I found this species on the list of bulbophile.com

I have no experience with this shop, there are different opinions about it.

But maybe you can try it there?

Greetings
Kathy
« Last Edit: October 04, 2020, 01:29:41 PM by Maggi Young »
Margaret Young in Aberdeen, North East Scotland Zone 7 -ish!

Editor: International Rock Gardener e-magazine

Michael Mace

• My bulb blog
« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2021, 02:54:18 AM »
I just noticed this thread. Not sure if anyone is still listening, but just in case...